Sports

Fans fume as Neymar escapes red card following bizarre refereeing decision

20Views

Fans fume as Neymar bizarrely escapes sure-fire red card
Neymar is shown his first yellow, but somehow escaped a second (Picture: Getty)

Neymar experienced a rollercoaster of a night as Real Madrid struck twice late to steal a 3-1 win against Paris Saint-Germain at the Santiago Bernbeau.

Two goals from Cristiano Ronaldo and a late strike from Marcelo gave the hosts a commanding lead ahead of the second-leg of the Champions League last-16 tie in Paris in two weeks, despite Adrien Rabiot opening the scoring in the first half via an assist from Neymar.

More: Football

Neymar can count himself fortunate to have not been shown a second yellow card for an incident of simulation in the second period.

The Brazil international was already on a yellow for an uncharacteristically heavy challenge on Real Madrid defender Nacho in the first half and probably should have received his marching orders when he went down, without being touched, under a challenge from Casemiro.

Confusion reigned as the referee blew for a PSG free-kick for Neymar’s simulation but did not show a second yellow – going against UEFA’s guidelines on such matters.

It’s fair to say PSG fans, among others, had some choice words for Neymar, the referee and perceived bias against defending European Champions Real Madrid.

Neymar completey does Nacho… then goes down under what seemed from here Casemiro foul… ref says not a foul tho… but not a dive either which would have been second yellow…

— Dermot Corrigan (@dermotmcorrigan) February 14, 2018

If Neymar got his second yellow for that dive, it’d kill the entertainment value of the second leg and the official knows that

— Juan (@socraticjuan) February 14, 2018

61' Well, well, well. Neymar avoids a second yellow card despite a clear dive.

Someone in Qatar must have had a word … #rcmpsg#ucl

— DW Sports (@dw_sports) February 14, 2018

Honestly have never seen anyone dive more than Neymar

— Erik (@eszilagyi99) February 14, 2018

Lool look at the Neymar dive, he forgot what Spanish stadium he’s playing in

— Ugonna (@VikkiAngelX) February 14, 2018

Did the ref just call a dive and then remember Neymar was on a yellow and decide he actually hadn't done that?

— Michael Caley (@MC_of_A) February 14, 2018

All Neymar has done in this game is dolphin dive

— Rio (@aimar_313) February 14, 2018

MORE: Paris Saint-Germain want £36million for Manchester United transfer target Thomas Meunier

Leave a Reply