Food

Adding a slice of lemon to your drink might mean its not vegan

26Views

Your ads will be inserted here by

Easy Plugin for AdSense.

Please go to the plugin admin page to
Paste your ad code OR
Suppress this ad slot.

Some lemons arent for vegans (Picture: Getty)

Cookbook author Jack Monroe spotted something that caused some confusion on Twitter.

Choosing a drink from Pizza Express, she noticed that a glass of Coca-Cola is only suitable for vegans if its served without lemon.

Posting on Twitter, Jack said: Erm what do pizza express do to their LEMONS to make them not suitable for vegans?! Just noticed this and cant for the life of me fathom wtf.

Erm what do pizza express do to their LEMONS to make them not suitable for vegans?! Just noticed this and can't for the life of me fathom wtf pic.twitter.com/YF1LkjY80a

☘🇨🇾Jack Monroe (@BootstrapCook) September 18, 2019

People were quick to explain that its because some lemons are waxed.

Pizza Express went on to explain: The wax on waxed lemons contain shellac which is derived from insects and therefore strictly not vegan.

Your ads will be inserted here by

Easy Plugin for AdSense.

Please go to the plugin admin page to
Paste your ad code OR
Suppress this ad slot.

Advertisement

Advertisement

Coating lemons (and sometimes other citrus fruits) helps to preserve the fruit but usually, the wax is either beeswax or shellac, which is a resin made from the secretions of the female lac insect (yes, the same thing used to make shellac nails).

Lemons are shipped in from across the world and the wax is needed to keep them fresh and protect them during transport. It also makes them look shiny.

Some lemons are coated in a polyethene wax that is suitable for vegans so its important to check the packaging.

More: Food

Or you can avoid waxed lemons altogether and only buy unwaxed citrus fruit, but be aware they dont stay fresh as long.

When youre out and a slice of lemon is placed in your drink, be aware that it might not be vegan and Read More – Source